Past Presidents of MAPTA

In the fall of 2017, MAPTA members voted to become a local association of Wisconsin Music Teachers Assocation (WMTA), a state association of Music Teachers National Assocation (MTNA). In this section, we honor our 50-year history as MAPTA as we look forward to the next 50 years of providing quality music instruction in the Madison area.


Gail Gilbert                                                                                                        1967-1969
Ophelia Murphy                                                                                                 1969-1971
Patricia Freed                                                                                                    1971-1973
Norma Bruhn                                                                                                     1973-1975
Margaret Talcott                                                                                                1975-1977
Leo Clark                                                                                                           1977-1978
Darlene Forsberg                                                                                              1978-1980
Donna Wilkinson                                                                                               1980-1981
Connie Jones                                                                                                    1981-1983
Annette Hamilton                                                                                              1983-1985
Ann Yuill                                                                                                            1985-1987
Linda Van Peursem                                                                                           1987-1989
Beatrice Dewey                                                                                                 1989-1991
Carolyn White                                                                                                   1991-1993
Polly Kuelbs                                                                                                      1993-1995
Anita Schulz                                                                                                      1995-1997
Julie Chang                                                                                                       1997-1999
Karen Hill                                                                                                          1999-2001
Karen Larbalestier                                                                                             2001-2003
Jane Peckham                                                                                                  2003-2005
Joanna Grace                                                                                                   2005-2007
Shad Wenzlaff                                                                                                   2007-2009
Debbie Yee                                                                                                        2009-2011
Patty Ladpli                                                                                                       2011-2013
June Zeeh                                                                                                         2013-2015
Alena Harrison                                                                                                  2015-2016
Mickey Lytle                                                                                                      2016-2018
Denise Taylor                                                                                                    2018-2021

MAME is grateful for the estate of Beatrice Dewey for their generous donations in memoriam. Bea passed on July 31, 2021. If you attended Bea’s virtual memorial service in August, we invite you to share your recollections of Bea for publication in Nuances.


Lois Gilbert Anderson
Darlene Forsberg*
Catherine Sih
Irmgard Bittar
Patricia Freed
Anita Schulz
Norma Bruhn*
Gail Gilbert*
Margaret Talcott
Julie Chang
Bea Dewey
Connie Jones
Polly Kuelbs
Carolyn White
Ann Yuill
Olive Endres*
Karen Larbalestier*


Madison Area Music Educators

MAME founded Dec 18, 2017
Charter Members: Mickey Lytle, Denise Taylor, June Zeeh, Debbie Yee, Emily Schultz

Past Presidents:
2017-18: Mickey Lytle, NCTM
2018-2021: Denise Taylor

Madison Area Music Educators
PO Box 44152
Madison, WI 53744